Louisville Slugger makes commemorative UA bats - Tucson News Now

Louisville Slugger makes commemorative UA bats

TUCSON, AZ (Rachael Feldman) – The University of Arizona Wildcats made history this week with the school's fourth baseball National Championship and first since 1986.  Now Wildcat fans can celebrate the latest national title with specially inscribed and officially licensed collector's edition bats from Louisville Slugger, the equipment supplier for Coach Andy Lopez's Wildcat championship team.

The bats are engraved with the official National Championship logo, the scores of the two wins over South Carolina in the CWS finals, the University of Arizona logo, as well as the school's special National Championship logo.

"It's rare when any college program wins a fourth national title, so Arizona fans will want this special keepsake bat to always remember this historic time for Wildcat baseball," said Louisville Slugger Director of Premium and Promotional Bat Sales Packy Page.  "Most fans will want to display this bat as soon as they get it, while others might want to buy it now and hold it for a gift to give an Arizona fan for Christmas, a birthday or another special occasion."

The bats are in the Wildcats' colors – red, white, and blue – and sell for $100 each.  They're available at www.sluggergifts.com.  Delivery can be expected within 2–3 weeks as Louisville Slugger works to meet the demand for these special commemorative bats.  The historic bat maker is also working with Arizona shops and bookstores to carry the bats.

"Fans will certainly want this bat to be a part of their University of Arizona memorabilia.  No collection will be complete without it since it represents the Wildcats' fourth championship in baseball and Coach Lopez's second, making him only the second coach in history to win the College World Series at two different schools,"Page said.

Louisville Slugger is sending seven of the special bats as congratulatory gifts to Coach Lopez and his assistants, AD Greg Byrne, outgoing university president Eugene Sander and incoming president Ann Weaver Hart.

Powered by Frankly