NASA delays test launch of new rocket to Saturday - Tucson News Now

NASA delays test launch of new rocket to Saturday

Posted: Updated:
Source: NASA Source: NASA

The following information is from NASA.

NASA rescheduled a test launch of a new rocket to Saturday.

This is the second launch delay with the first launch window originally scheduled for Wednesday April 17, 2013.

The second launch window was schedule for the following Friday. 

NASA says the Wednesday launch was scrubbed 12 minutes before lift-off "due to a premature separation of the launch pad umbilical that mates to Antares."

The second delay was because of strong storms moving into the Virginia coastal area where the launch facility is located. 

The Antares rocket is part of the NASA Commercial Space Transportation program.

Private company, Orbital Sciences Corporation, is partnering with NASA to test launch this new rocket. 

If successful, the rocket could be used to carry supplies to the International Space Station. 

The launch window is from 5 to 8 PM EDT Saturday (2 to 5 PM Arizona time).  

NASA will stream the launch live on NASA TV at http://www.nasa.gov/ntv.

Coverage beings at 4:30 PM EDT (1:30 PM Arizona time). 

For more information visit: http://www.nasa.gov/orbital

Powered by WorldNow