Suns summer league schedule announced - Tucson News Now

Suns summer league schedule announced

Posted: Updated:

NEW YORK, June 19, 2013 –The Phoenix Suns and NBA today announced the schedule for NBA Summer League 2013 in Las Vegas, which will feature 22 teams competing in a 61-game schedule from July 12-22 at the Thomas & Mack Center and COX Pavilion on the campus of the University of Nevada Las Vegas.  

This summer's event will feature the debut of a tournament style schedule that will crown the first ever NBA Summer League Champion on Monday, July 22. Teams will compete in three preliminary round games from July 12-16 before being seeded in a tournament running through the Championship Game on July 22. Each team is guaranteed to play at least five games.  

NBA TV will televise a full slate of NBA Summer League games and live game action will also extend across digital platforms.  A complete broadcast schedule will be released at a later date.

NBA Summer League 2013 will open with the debut of New Orleans as the Pelicans when they face the New York Knicks on Friday, July 12 at 1 p.m. PT. The Cleveland Cavaliers, who have the top selection in this year's NBA Draft, will also tip off their Summer League competition on July 12 when they square off against the Los Angeles Lakers at COX Pavilion at 7 p.m. PT. The Cavaliers have been participants in every NBA Summer League in Las Vegas since the league's inception in 2004.  

Additional teams participating this year include the Atlanta Hawks, Charlotte Bobcats (fourth pick in 2013 NBA Draft), Chicago Bulls, Dallas Mavericks (13th pick), Denver Nuggets, Golden State Warriors, Los Angeles Clippers, Los Angeles Lakers, Memphis Grizzlies, Miami Heat, Milwaukee Bucks, Minnesota Timberwolves (ninth pick), New Orleans Pelicans (sixth pick), New York Knicks, Phoenix Suns (fifth pick), Portland Trail Blazers (10th pick), Sacramento Kings (seventh pick), San Antonio Spurs, Toronto Raptors, Washington Wizards (third pick) and the NBA D-League Select team. 

Exciting games featuring the NBA's newest talent have always been a staple at NBA Summer League, with seven of the last eight NBA Rookie of the Year Award winners joining their teams in Las Vegas including: Chris Paul (New Orleans, 2005-06), Brandon Roy (Portland, 2006-07), Kevin Durant (Oklahoma City, 2007-08), Tyreke Evans (Sacramento, 2009-10), Blake Griffin (L.A. Clippers, 2010-11), Kyrie Irving (Cleveland, 2011-12) and Damian Lillard (Portland, 2012-13).

Tickets for the NBA Summer League 2013 are on sale now.  Fans will be able to purchase tickets by calling 702-739-FANS, through or by visiting any UNLV ticket outlet.

Copyright 2013 National Basketball Association. All rights reserved

Powered by WorldNow