Baseball fiesta returns for 3rd year - Tucson News Now

Mexican Baseball Fiesta returns for 3rd year

The Tucson Padres and Visit Tucson have announced the third annual Vamos a Tucson Mexican Baseball Fiesta will be played on October 3-6, 2013 at Kino Stadium. This year's event will include the Naranjeros de Hermosillo, Tomateros de Culiacan and Yaquis de Obregon of the Mexican Pacific League, as well as a group of instructional league players in the Los Angeles Dodgers organization. A squad of instructional league players from another Major League organization will be added at a later date.

"The Tucson Padres would like to thank all of the participating teams and our title sponsor, Vamos a Tucson," said Mike Feder, Tucson Padres General Manager. "This tournament includes some of the most popular teams in Mexico. The Vamos a Tucson Mexican Baseball Fiesta will be a tradition in Tucson for many years to come."

"We're excited to partner with the Tucson Padres for the third year to bring Mexican baseball back to Tucson," said Felipe Garcia, Executive Vice President of Visit Tucson. "The popularity of this event continues to grow and we are proud to be a part of something that both locals and visitors look forward to every October."

Thursday's press conference at Kino Stadium included Juan Aguirre, the General Manager of the Naranjeros de Hermosillo and Rene Arturo Rodriguez, the President of the Yaquis of Obregon.

The three-time Mexican Pacific League champion Yaquis de Obregon will play the first game of the Mexican Baseball Fiesta on Thursday, October 3 against a group of minor leaguers from a Major League organization. The Yaquis are the defending Caribbean World Series champions. Official opening ceremonies for the 2013 Vamos a Tucson Mexican Baseball Fiesta will take place between games on Friday, October 4. The full tournament schedule will be released when the event gets closer.

Visit Tucson, formerly known as Metropolitan Tucson Convention & Visitors Bureau, is the title sponsor of the Vamos a Tucson Mexican Baseball Fiesta for the third straight year. Visit Tucson has visitor centers in Hermosillo and Obregon. Vamos a Tucson is the Mexican marketing department of Visit Tucson.

Naranjeros de Hermosillo: The team based in the Capital of Sonora has a great following and strong attendance. Naranjeros de Hermosillo is one of the most successful teams in the Mexican Pacific League, having won 15 league titles and one Caribbean Series title. They became the first Mexican team to win the Caribbean Series after winning the title in 1976. Former Hermosillo players include Curt Schilling, Larry Walker, Fernando Valenzuela, Erubiel Durazo and Vinny Castilla.

Yaquis de Ciudad Obregon: The team from Obregon has won three Mexican Pacific League Championships in a row, giving the team seven in club history. They also won the Caribbean Series in 2011 and 2012. Games between the Naranjeros and Yaquis are considered as some of the best matchups in the league, due to the long rivalry between both teams. Former Obregon players include Kansas City Royals pitcher Joakim Soria, Baltimore Orioles pitcher Luis Ayala and current San Diego Padres infielder Everth Cabrera.

Tomateros de Culiacan: The Tomateros are one of the most popular teams in the Mexican Pacific League. They have won nine Mexican Pacific League Championships, most recently in 2004. In that same year they went on to win the Caribbean Series with a lineup that featured several Major League players like Rodrigo Lopez, Oliver Perez, Luis Ayala, Jose Silva and Benji Gil.

Copyright 2013 Tucson Padres. All rights reserved

Powered by Frankly