Johnson named Naismith Semifinalist

ATLANTA – Arizona junior guard Nick Johnson was named one of 10 national semifinalists for the 2014 Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T in an announcement by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

Johnson is the lone Pac-12 representative on the 10-player list, which will be trimmed to four on March 23.

Johnson has evolved into one of the nation's top all-around players this season, leading Arizona in scoring at 16.2 points per game and ranking second on the team with averages of 2.7 assists and 1.1 steals per contest. He is shooting career bests of 45.1 percent from the floor and 76.9 percent from the free throw line, averages a career-high 3.9 rebounds per game and has a 1.52 assist-to-turnover ratio.

The Gilbert, Ariz., native has reached the 20-point mark a team-high nine times on the season, and became the 48th member of UA's 1,000-point club in mid-January.

He was the Most Outstanding Player at the NIT Season Tip-Off, and was named a finalist for the Oscar Robertson National Player of the Year Trophy on Thursday.

For the latest updates on Arizona men's basketball and an inside look at the program, follow @APlayersProgram on Twitter.

Naismith Trophy semifinalists

Tyler Ennis, Syracuse

Nick Johnson, Arizona

Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati

Doug McDermott, Creighton

Shabazz Napier, Connecticut

Jabari Parker, Duke

Julius Randle, Kentucky

Russ Smith, Louisville

Fred Van Vleet, Wichita State

Andrew Wiggins, Kansas