Honorees named for 2014 Scholar Athlete Awards - Tucson News Now

Honorees named for 2014 Scholar Athlete Awards

TUCSON, AZ (Tucson News Now) -

Recipientsof the 2014 Scholar Athlete Awards from the Southern Arizona Chapter of theNational Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame (NFF-CHOF).

Thehonorees for 2014 are:

BenHonea - Marana High School

AustinSoszynski - Marana High School

StephenAndrew Mike Jr. - Sabino High School

ZacharyJoseph - Sabino High School

TylerBerson - Ironwood Ridge High School

KevinHamlett Jr. - Salpointe High School

JuanLuis Zozaya-Tellez - Desert View High School

ChristianPoe - Cienega High School

TommyCiaccio - Catalina Foothills High School

ZacharyRadovich - Sahuarita High School

JakeFischer - University of Arizona

These11 students were chosen based on criteria that focuses on citizenship, academicscholarship and athletic achievement. One of these honorees will be nominated for the National FootballFoundation National High School Scholarship-Athlete Award, to be awarded inDecember 2014 in New York City. 

SouthernArizona's award winners will be recognized at the 17th Annual Scholar-AthleteAwards Banquet on March 30, at the University of Arizona Memorial Student UnionGrand Ballroom.

Themission of the Southern Arizona Chapter of the NFF-CHOF is to promote anddevelop leadership, character and academic excellence through amateur football.They fulfill this mission, in part, by annually selecting ten graduating seniorhigh school football players as recipients of the National Football Foundationand College Hall of Fame, Scholar-Athlete Scholarship Award. We also select oneUniversity of Arizona player to be honored each year with our high schoolhonorees.

Copyright 2014 TucsonNews Now All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly