Athlon Sports Names Nine Preseason All-Pac-12

Athlon Sports Names Nine Preseason All-Pac-12
TUCSON, Ariz. –

Nine members of the Arizona football team collected preseason All-Pac-12 Conference honors from Athlon Sports on Tuesday. Rising junior linebacker Scooby Wright III and redshirt junior receiver Cayleb Jones led the group with first-team nods.

Jones (first team) led all UA receivers with 1,019 yards and nine scores in 2014. An All-Pac-12 Honorable Mention honoree, he totaled 73 receptions and averaged 14.0 ypc and 72.8 ypg.

Based on a vote of NCAA head coaches, media and college athletics personnel, Wright (first team) won the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, the Rotary Lombardi Award and the Chuck Bednarik Award, all given annually to the nation's top defender. The Pat Tillman Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, he ranked in the top five among FBS players for total tackles (163), tackles for loss (29.0), sacks (14.0) and forced fumbles (6).

Sophomore running back Nick Wilson (second team) paced the Cats on the ground with 1,375 yards and 16 touchdowns. He averaged 5.8 yards per carry and 105.8 yards per game en route to setting Arizona's freshman rushing record. In 2014, senior safety Will Parks (second team) started all 14 games at spur and totaled 81 tackles with 13.0 tackles for loss of 34 yards. Redshirt senior punter Drew Riggleman (second team) was a 2014 Honorable Mention All-American and All-Pac-12 Second-Team. He averaged 46.1 yards per punt to rank second in the Pac-12 and fourth among FBS players.

Redshirt sophomore quarterback Anu Solomon (third team) set career game highs of 105 rushing yards (vs. Colorado), 16 rushes (vs. Colorado), 73 pass attempts (vs. California), 520 passing yards (vs. California) and 566 yards of total offense (vs. California). Senior defensive lineman Reggie Gilbert (third team) totaled 49 tackles with 5.5 tackles for a loss of 15 yards in 2104. He recorded 3.0 sacks for 10 yards lost, one pass broken up and one forced fumble.

Redshirt junior Freddie Tagaloa (fourth team) will see his first action with Arizona's offensive line in 2015. A transfer from California, he redshirted the 2014 season. Redshirt junior DaVonte' Neal (punt return, fourth team) returned 12 punts for 133 yards and one TD. He scored on an 81-yard punt return at Washington State.

Coming off a 10-win season that included the Pac-12 South Championship and a Fiesta Bowl bid, Arizona returns 44 letterwinners for 2015. Head coach Rich Rodriguez also welcomes a class of 21 seniors for 2015.

The Wildcats' season opener hosting UTSA will be played on Thurs., Sept. 3 at Arizona Stadium. Kickoff is set for 7 p.m. MST/PT on Pac-12 Networks.