UA will impact the NBA Draft again

UA will impact the NBA Draft again

TUCSON, AZ - Thursday will mark the next step in the professional careers of Arizona Basketball stars Brandon Ashley,Rondae Hollis-Jefferson, Stanley Johnson and T.J. McConnell, as the 2015 NBA Draft is set for 4 p.m. MST at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn. The draft will be televised on ESPN and WatchESPN.

Arizona has produced 67 NBA Draft picks since 1948. The Wildcats have had 38 players drafted since 1988, tied with Duke and Kentucky for the most nationally over that timeframe.

The Wildcats' five draft picks since 2011 are the eighth-most nationally over the span and their four draft picks since 2013 are the second-most nationally in that time.

UA has had at least one player selected in 22 of the last 27 NBA Drafts, including 17 first-round choices and 12 lottery picks. Ten of UA's last 12 first-round selections have been lottery picks. Five of UA's last eight overall selections have been first-rounders.

The Wildcats have produced a total of 19 first-round picks in program history. Fourteen Arizona underclassmen have entered the draft early and been selected since 1991: Brian Williams (1991), Mike Bibby (1998), Gilbert Arenas (2001), Richard Jefferson (2001), Michael Wright (2001), Andre Iguodala (2004), Marcus Williams (2007), Jerryd Bayless (2008), Chase Budinger (2009), Jordan Hill (2009), Derrick Williams (2011), Grant Jerrett (2013), Aaron Gordon (2014) and Nick Johnson (2014).

Five UA players have been drafted in six years under head coach Sean Miller: Williams (2011), Solomon Hill (2013), Jerrett (2013), Gordon (2014) and Johnson (2014).

Arizona has had three first-round picks in the last four years, and five first-round picks since 2008.

There have been 18 occasions on which multiple Arizona players have been drafted in the same year, including 11 times since 1988. UA has had multiple first-round picks in the same year twice (1989, 1998). The most UA players ever selected in one draft is five (2001).

Copyright 2015 Arizona Athletics. All rights reserved.