Pollock named to NL All-Star team

Pollock named to NL All-Star team

PHOENIX — Arizona Diamondbacks (@Dbacks) outfielder A.J. Pollock was named as a reserve to the National League All-Star Team in the 86th Midsummer Classic to be played July 14 at Great America Ball Park.

This is Pollock’s first All-Star selection, becoming the 21st player in franchise history to be named to the NL roster, and the sixth D-backs outfielder, along with Devon White (2007), Luis Gonzalez (1999, 2001, ’02, ’03, ’05), Steve Finley (2000), Justin Upton (2009, ’11) and Chris Young (2010).

Pollock, 27, is batting .303 (96-for-317) with 17 doubles, 2 triples, 10 home runs, 38 RBI, 54 runs scored and 18 stolen bases in 81 games for Arizona this season. He ranks among NL leaders in multi-hit games (T-2nd, 28), hits (3rd), runs scored (T-3rd), stolen bases (5th) and total bases (8th, 147).

Pollock leads all Major League outfielders in hits and is tied for first in multi-hit games. He ranks among NL outfielders in runs scored (2nd), doubles (T-4th), batting average (5th), slugging percentage (7th, .464), OPS (7th, .810) and RBI (T-10th).

Pollock will join D-backs first basemen Paul Goldschmidt as All-Star teammates for the second time in their careers after participating in the 2011 Southern League All-Star Game in Jackson, Tenn. Pollock was 2-for-3 with a walk, stolen base and 2 runs scored while Goldschmidt went 1-for-4 with a home run, 2 RBI and a run scored. Pollock, who was batting second for the South squad, singled in his first at-bat before Goldschmidt followed with a 2-run home run off Jarrett Grube.


Year      Players – Position (Starter in bold)

1998       Devon White – OF

1999       Jay Bell – 2B, Luis Gonzalez – OF, Randy Johnson – LHP, Matt Williams – 3B

2000       Steve Finley – OF, Randy Johnson – LHP

2001       Luis Gonzalez – OF, Randy Johnson – LHP, Curt Schilling – RHP

2002       Luis Gonzalez – OF, Randy Johnson – LHP, Byung-Hyum Kim – RHP, Damian Miller – C,

              Junior Spivey – INF, Curt Schilling – RHP

2003       Luis Gonzalez – OF

2004       Randy Johnson – LHP

2005       Luis Gonzalez – OF

2006       Brandon Webb – RHP

2007       Orlando Hudson – 2B, Jose Valverde – RHP, Brandon Webb – RHP

2008       Dan Haren – RHP, Brandon Webb – RHP

2009       Dan Haren – RHP, Justin Upton – OF

2010       Chris Young – OF

2011       Miguel Montero – C, Justin Upton – OF

2012       Wade Miley – LHP

2013       Patrick Corbin – LHP, Paul Goldschmidt – 1B

2014       Paul Goldschmidt – 1B

2015       Paul Goldschmidt – 1B, A.J. Pollock – OF