Wright, Tagaloa Named to Award Watch Lists

Wright, Tagaloa Named to Award Watch Lists

TUCSON, Ariz. – All-American linebacker Scooby Wright III and offensive lineman Freddie Tagaloa were each named to a national award watch list on Friday. Wright was included on the Bronko Nagurski Award watch list while Tagaloa was included on the Outland Trophy watch list.

Wright has now been named to two award watch lists after being included on the Chuck Bednarik Award watch list on Tuesday, July 7. The reigning Bronko Nagurski Award winner ranked in the top five among FBS players for total tackles (163), tackles for loss (29.0), sacks (14.0) and forced fumbles (6) in 2014. He collected career game-high 19 tackles at UCLA, 5.0 TFL vs. ASU and three forced fumbles at Washington State.

Tagaloa redshirted during the 2014 season, but played a key role as a member of the scout team. Before he came to Arizona, he played both tackle positions at California in 23 games while starting in seven of them. In 2013, he was named a team captain and was a preseason candidate for the Rotary Lombardi Award, given to the top lineman on either side of the ball or linebacker and the Jim Trophy Award, awarded to the nation’s top offensive lineman.

Beginning in 2015, The Home Depot College Football Awards will have a new home at the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in Atlanta. Airing live on ESPN on Dec. 10, 2015, college football’s brightest stars will be honored for their performance on and off the field.

The Wildcats’ season opener hosting UTSA will be played on Thurs., Sept. 3 at Arizona Stadium. Kickoff is set for 7 p.m. MST/PT on Pac-12 Networks.

Tickets for the 2015 football season are on sale and can be purchased at ArizonaWildcats.com/footballtickets or by contacting the McKale Center Ticket Office (520-621-CATS).