The Fiesta moves to Hi Corbett

The Fiesta moves to Hi Corbett
Tucson, AZ - The Mexican Baseball Fiesta LLC and Visit Tucson announced the fifth annual Vamos a Tucson Mexican Baseball Fiesta presented by Cox will be played on October 1-4, 2015 but this year at a new location. In 2015, the Mexican Baseball Fiesta will move to midtown’s “historic” Hi Corbett Field.

This year’s event will include the Naranjeros de Hermosillo, Yaquis de Obregon, Aguilas de Mexicali, and the Cañeros de Los Mochis of the Mexican Pacific League (Liga Mexicana Del Pacifico), as well as a group of the top instructional league players from two MLB organizations to be determined. This will be the first year that Los Mochis will travel to Tucson for the Mexican Baseball Fiesta. Hermosillo and Obregon have participated all five years. The Mexican Baseball Fiesta takes place in Tucson, Phoenix, El Paso and hopefully Las Vegas during September and early October.

“We believe it was essential that we continue this fun-filled multi-national and cultural event in Tucson” said Mike Feder, President of the Mexican Baseball Fiesta, LLC. “This tournament includes some of the most popular teams in Mexico. The Vamos a Tucson Mexican Baseball Fiesta will continue to be a tradition in Tucson for many years to come.” Feder joined MBF founder Francisco Gamez and Jack Donovan in forming the Mexican Baseball Fiesta, LLC in 2011.
On the reason for the move to Hi Corbett Field Mike Feder said “Hi Corbett Field is more centrally located. We’re also very excited about the partnership with the University of Arizona, who helps manage the stadium as part of their lease with the City of Tucson for the Wildcats baseball team. My favorite baseball memories took place at Hi Corbett with the Toros (Feder came to Tucson in 1989 to operate the Triple-A team). Hi Corbett has the feeling of “home” to a tremendous amount of baseball fans in the Tucson area.”

“The Mexican Pacific League, is as popular in Mexico as Major League Baseball is in the U.S., if not more so,” said Francisco Gamez, Mexican Baseball Fiesta, founder and LLC partner. Gamez played over 10 years in the Mexican Pacific League. Constant excitement is the best way to describe the Mexican Baseball Fiesta.  The energy of the fans, the music and fun make this a unique experience for all baseball fans that transcends borders and language.”

We’re excited to partner with this great event for the fifth year to bring Mexican baseball back to Tucson,” said Felipe Garcia, Executive Vice President of Visit Tucson. “The popularity of this event continues to grow and we are proud to be a part of something that both locals and visitors look forward to every October. Over 1,700 hotel room nights were booked last year.”

Visit Tucson is one of two title sponsors of the Vamos a Tucson Mexican Baseball Fiesta. Visit Tucson has visitor centers in Hermosillo and Obregon. Vamos a Tucson is the Mexican marketing department of Visit Tucson. Cox Communications will return as a Title Sponsor for a second year.

Tickets for the Vamos a Tucson Mexican Baseball Fiesta go on sale on September 8th at the Hi Corbett Field box office or online at The full tournament schedule will be released in August. The featured game will be on Saturday night between Hermosillo and Obregon. That game has drawn in excess of 5,000 fans every year.

Information on the Mexican Pacific League teams coming to Tucson:

Naranjeros de Hermosillo

The team based in the Capital of Sonora has a great following and strong attendance. The Naranjeros de Hermosillo are one of the most popular and successful teams in the Mexican Pacific League, having won 16 league titles and two Caribbean Series title. The Naranjeros won the Caribbean Series title in 2014. They became the first Mexican team to win the Caribbean Series after winning the title in 1976. Former Hermosillo players include Curt Schilling, Larry Walker, Fernando Valenzuela, Erubiel Durazo and Vinny Castilla. Hermosillo will be managed by former big league infielder Delino DeShields.

Yaquis de Ciudad Obregon

The team from Obregon had won three Mexican Pacific League Championships in a row from 2010 - 2012, giving the team seven in club history. They also won the Caribbean Series in 2011 and 2012. Games between the Naranjeros and Yaquis are considered as some of the best matchups in the league, due to the long rivalry between both teams. Former Obregon players include Kansas City Royals pitcher Joakim Soria, Baltimore Orioles pitcher Luis Ayala and current San Diego Padres infielder Everth Cabrera.

Cañeros de Los Mochis

They play in the state of Sinaloa. The Cañeros won the league championship in 1984 and 2003. They named a new manager yesterday, former MLB IF Luis Sojo. Notable players from the Cañeros include Aurelio Rodriguez, Mike Cameron, former Tucson Toros P Bronswell Patrick, Tucsonan Ed Vosberg, and Juan Castro.

Agulias de Mexicali

The Aguilas play in the Capital of Baja California. The team has a history of playing against Tucson teams, when in the 50s it played against the Tucson Cowboys in the Arizona-Mexico League. The Aguilas won the league championship in 1986, 1989 and 1999. The team also won the 1986 Caribbean Series. Former Mexicali players include Mike Piazza, John Kruk and Rudy Seanez.

Information on the Mexican Baseball Fiesta, LLC is available at; on Facebook at Mexican Baseball Fiesta; on Twitter at @MexBaseballFsta in English, @MexBeisbolFsta in Spanish.