Cross Country set to Begin 2015 Campaign

Cross Country set to Begin 2015 Campaign

TUCSON, Ariz. – The University of Arizona cross country teams are set to begin the 2015 season by traveling to Flagstaff, Ariz. to compete in the George Kyte Classic. The meet is set to begin at 1:30 p.m. MST with the men running the 4.5-mile race and the women will run the 2.6-mile race at 2:30 p.m. MST. The races will take place at Buffalo Park and will be hosted by Northern Arizona University.

“It’s the first race of the year,” head cross country coach James Li said. “We want to take a look at where our runners are and where their fitness level is.”

The men’s side will be represented by Matthew Beer, Jeff Gautreau, Alex Hart, Patrick Leary, Jonas Legernes, Brendan Tinoco and Seamus White. The women’s side will be represented by Chrissy Calain, Taryn Estavillo, Kayla Ferron, McKenna Gaffney, Margie Moyer, Kate Penney and Addi Zerrenner.

Joining the Wildcats at the George Kyte Classic will be Arizona State, Benedictine University, Dine College, Dixie State, Embry-Riddle, Estrella Mountain CC, Glendale CC, Grand Canyon, Navajo Tech, Northern Arizona and Pima CC.

Last year at the George Kyte Classic, the women’s side took second place with 43 points, led by Kristina Aubert who took first place by 12 seconds. Kate Penney took fourth and Claire Green finished in sixth as well. The men’s side finished in third place and were led by Sam Macaluso who took fourth while Kenji Bierig finished in ninth and Beer earned a 10th-place finish.

In 2014, both the men and the women finished in eighth place in the Pac-12. They both advanced to the NCAA West Regional and the women took 10th while the men took 14th at the meet. Collins Kibet had a nice year for the Wildcats as he finished 30th at the Pac-12 Championships and 35th at the NCAA West Regionals. On the women’s side, Molly Callahan took 34th at the Pac-12 Championships and 39th at the NCAA West Regionals.

You can find live results at or visit