East Pacific hurricane season names - Tucson News Now

East Pacific hurricane season names

source: nasa.gov source: nasa.gov
TUCSON, AZ (Tucson News Now) -

The East Pacific hurricane season begins May 15 and ends November 30. Names are given to tropical cyclones once they become tropical storms (sustained winds 39 mph or greater).  

Each year, a list of names are given for all of the potential tropical storms and hurricanes. The list is recycled every six years, so this year's list will be used again in 2022.  A name is only retired if the hurricane was too destructive or too deadly.

Here is the list for 2016:

source: Tucson News Now

You can check out names for other years, including the names for the Atlantic hurricane season by clicking here.

Copyright 2016 Tucson News Now. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly