ELECTION 2016: Honea re-elected Marana mayor; Oro Valley council - Tucson News Now


ELECTION 2016: Honea re-elected Marana mayor; Oro Valley council selected

Ed Honea. (Source: Town of Marana) Ed Honea. (Source: Town of Marana)
Dan Post. (Source: Dan Post for Mayor) Dan Post. (Source: Dan Post for Mayor)
SOUTHERN, AZ (Tucson News Now) -

There were several key elections in southern Arizona outside of the county and statewide races in the Arizona primary on Tuesday, Aug. 30.

The biggest were races for Marana mayor and town council and council races in South Tucson, Oro Valley and Sahuarita.

ELECTION RESULTS: Mobile users can get complete results HERE while desktop users can go HERE.

Marana Mayor

Incumbent Ed Honea faced off against Dan Post.

Honea held off a surprisingly strong challenge and won with 69.7 percent of the vote.

Marana Town Council

Incumbents Dave Bowen and Roxanne Ziegler ran against John Officer for two open spots. Bowen (36.6 percent) and Ziegler (35.2 percent) won seats on the council.

South Tucson City Council

There were four spots up for grabs on the South Tucson City Council and only four people running, so all were elected.

Incumbents Robert Larribas and Anita Romero will be joined on the council by Rufino Cantu Jr. and Carlos Romo.

Oro Valley Town Council

In Oro Valley's town council race, six people were running for three open seats.

Incumbents Brendan Burns, Bill Garner and Michael Zinkin were battling Rhonda Pina, Bill Rodman and Steve Solomon for the spots.

Pina (20 percent), Solomon (19.7 percent) and Rodman (18 percent) captured the seats.

Sahuarita Town Council

In the Sahuarita town council race, six people --- Bill Bracco, Melissa Hicks, Gil Lusk, Lynne Skelton, Robert Housley and John Sparks -- ran for four open seats.

All of the incumbents kept their seats as Hicks (19.7 percent), Skelton (19.6 percent), Lusk (18.3 percent) and Bracco (15.5 percent) won.

Results for races in Nogales, Sierra Vista, Benson, Bisbee, Huachuca City and Maricopa, Pinal, Santa Cruz and Cochise counties can be found HERE.

Copyright 2016 Tucson News Now. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly