Miller named Pac-12 Coach of the Year

Miller named Pac-12 Coach of the Year

SAN FRANCISCO – Arizona brought home a haul of accolades from the Pac-12 Conference in the league's yearly honors released Monday. Five Wildcats earned a total of seven awards from the conference. Lauri Markkanen and Kadeem Allen were each named to a pair of teams while Allonzo Trier and Rawle Alkins earned conference honors as well. Head coachSean Miller was also named the Pac-12 John R. Wooden Coach of the Year.

Freshman Lauri Markkanen was a First Team All-Conference selection after finishing the regular season averaging 15.2 points and 7.5 rebounds per game while shooting a team-high 42.8 percent from three-point range and 83.7 percent at the free throw line. The Finland native was also one of five first-year players voted to the Pac-12 All-Freshmen Team. Markkanen enters postseason play in the top ten of the UA freshmen record books in scoring, three-point field goals made and three-point field goal percentage after scoring in double figures in all but four of UA's 31 regular season games.

Kadeem Allen, a senior from Wilmington, N.C., was selected to the Pac-12's All-Conference Second Team and the league's five-member All-Defensive Team. The senior captain led UA in steals and was second on the team in blocks from his guard position. Allen spent much of the season in the top ten of the Pac-12 in three-point field goal percentage, assist-to-turnover ratio, and steals per game. His consistent play all season provided many highlights, which include his game-winning basket and steal in Arizona's season-opening win over No. 12 Michigan State in Hawai'i.

Allonzo Trier joins Allen on the All-Pac-12 Second Team. The sophomore led the Wildcats in scoring at 16.4 points per game while also averaging 5.0 rebounds and 2.5 assists per game. Trier, a Pac-12 All-Freshmen Team selection a year ago, closed out the regular season on a strong note. He averaged 23.3 points per game in his team's final four conference games while shooting 59.2 percent from the field, 52.2 percent from deep and 82.1 percent from the free throw line. The four-game stretch also includes Trier eclipsing the 20-point mark in three consecutive games for the first time in his college career.

Freshman Rawle Alkins earned a spot on the Pac-12's All-Freshmen team alongside teammate Lauri Markkanen. Alkins appeared in all 31 games of the regular season, starting in 30 of them. He was the team's third-leading scorer at 11.0 points per game while ago averaging 5.4 rebounds and 2.0 assists per game. The freshman made a name for himself on the glass as he became the first UA guard to record a pair of double-doubles in the same season since Hassan Adams recorded four double-doubles during the 2004-05 season.

Head coach Sean Miller earned the Pac-12 John R. Wooden Coach of the Year award as the conference's top coach. He guided the 2016-17 Wildcats to a share of the Pac-12 regular season conference championship, the fourth conference title won in his eight seasons in Tucson. It also marks the third time Miller has won Pac-12 coach of the year honors (2014 and 2011). Miller's mark of 107-37 (.743) in his eight Pac-12 seasons is the third-highest winning percentage in conference play in the history of the Pac-12, with at least 100 victories, behind only John Wooden and Lute Olson.

UA finished the 2016-17 regular season with a record of 27-4 and 16-2 in league play to earn a share of the conference crown with Oregon. It was Arizona's 15th conference championship in the last 32 seasons and the fourth in the last seven seasons. The 16 league wins gave the Wildcats their seventh season of 16 or more conference wins since joining the Pac-12 prior to the 1978-79 season. Included in the 16 victories, UA earned an 8-1 mark on the road in conference play. It was the second-best road mark in Pac-12 play in the history of the program behind the perfect 9-0 mark posted by the 2002-03 team. Arizona is now one of only six programs in the nation to win 25 or more games in each of the last five seasons.