USC is favorite on Pac-12 Beach

USC is favorite on Pac-12 Beach

TUCSON, AZ - The University of Arizona is hosting the second 2017 Pac-12 Beach Volleyball Championships. The tournament begins Thursday, April 27 and concludes Saturday, April 29.
No. 1 USC (30-0), No. 2 UCLA (26-3), No. 8 Arizona, Arizona State, CAL, Stanford, Oregon, Utah, and Washington will all compete in Pac-12 team and pair championship play.
All nine teams are seeded for the upcoming championship. No. 1 USC is the No. 1 seed. UCLA is the No. 2 seed and is also the second-ranked team in the nation.

Eighth-ranked ARIZONA is the No. 3 seed, ARIZONA STATE is the No. 4 seed and STANFORD is the fifth seed. CALIFORNIA was tabbed the No. 6 seed in the team bracket, followed by No. 7 WASHINGTON and UTAH, which is making its inaugural appearance in the championship, is the eighth seed, with OREGON rounding out the tournament as the No. 9 seed.
Arizona heads into the tournament holding a (15-8) overall record. The No. 1 pair of Madison and McKenna Witt and No. 4 tandem of Hailey Devlin and Sam Manley lead the team with a (17-6) record.
To begin team play on Thursday, UA will take on Cal at 11 a.m. for the second time this season. The Wildcats have a recent victory against Cal, as they swept the team this past senior weekend.
The winner of the final round of both, the winners bracket and contenders bracket will meet in the Championship round to be crowned, 2017 Pac-12 Beach Volleyball Champion on Friday, April 28 at 1 p.m. MST.
Pair play begins on Friday, April 27 and is single elimination. UA's Madison and McKenna Witt were seeded as the No. 5 pair and the duo of Olivia Hallaran and Olivia Macdonald are seeded at No. 10.

To begin the road to crown a pair champion, No. 5 seed of Madison and McKenna Witt will take on Washington's No. 12 seed of Cassie Strickland and Courtney Schwan at 5 p.m. MST on Friday.

An hour before the Witts, the Wildcats No. 10 seeded pair, Olivia Hallaran and Olivia Macdonald will take the sand against Stanford's No. 7 seed of Kathryn Plummer and Jenna Gray at 4 p.m. MST.

The Pairs Championship will be held the following day on Saturday, April 29 in conclusion of the Pac-12 Beach Volleyball Championships.
Copyright 2017 Arizona Athletics. All rights reserved.